Steward's Workshop: Using Grievances to Organize (December)

December 06, 2021

Event at a Glance

Date

December 06, 2021, 8:00 pm

THIS WORKSHOP IS INTENDED FOR STEWARDS AND OFFICERS WHO WORK WITH STEWARDS! Please only attend if you are a steward or an officer who works with stewards - space will be limited.

The workshop will be held on Monday, December 6th from 8-9:30pm ET/7-8:30pm Central/6-7:30pm Mountain/5-6:30pm Pacific.

This was so popular the last time we did it that we decided to do it again!

Grievances are a fundamental part of being a union steward, and there's a whole set of skills and knowledge that stewards should have to be effective at tackling them. But what about when grievances aren't enough? Or aren't the best way to go?

Sometimes you'll have an issue arise that is a righteous cause but isn't actually a violation of the contract. Sometimes you'll have a problem come up that's so hot that it needs to get resolved right away. And sometimes you just want to get off the grievance treadmill and get some more coworkers involved in the union.

In this workshop we'll talk about identifying opportunities to take the fight to the next level - and cover some strategies for how to wage that fight.

Registration is $10. No one will be turned away for lack of funds. Send an email to joe[at]labornotes[dot]org for assistance.

Also available: registration plus 50 percent off a one-year subscription to the Labor Notes magazine: $25
Subscription offer valid only for U.S. addresses. Click here to purchase an international subscription.

Email joe[at]labornotes[dot]org with any questions or issues.

Further reading for stewards on this topic:

How to Use Grievances to Organize
Getting Off the Grievance Treadmill

Registration Details: