Workshop: Running for Office

January 27, 2022

Event at a Glance

Date

January 27, 2022, 8:00 pm

This workshop will be held on:
Date: Thursday, January 27th
Time: 8-9:30pm Eastern (7-8:30pm Central, 6-7:30pm Mountain, 5-6:30pm Pacific).

One of the most important tools in the rank-and-file toolbox for transforming the labor movement is running for local union office. Internal elections are one of the ways that members can present a new way forward for the union, by putting the direction of the union in the hands of the membership—even if it means challenging existing leaders to do so.

But running for union office—and winning, or building lasting networks in our locals—is not just about getting your name on a ballot. It takes mapping out your local, building support across worksites, listening to members’ issues, and building a team that can successfully lead the union.

Join Labor Notes for an online workshop on Running for Union Office. Hear from those who’ve done it and won—and those who lost, but built a movement in their local union. We’ll discuss why, and why not, to run for office, and discuss the tools you’ll need to be successful.

Panelists will include:

  • Jon Schleuss, The NewsGuild - CWA
  • James Sandoval, SMART-TD
  • Frank Halstead, Teamsters
  • Sarah Ann Adams, Rose Rank and File, AFSCME Local 1930

Registration is FREE. If you can, please support Labor Notes by including a donation with your registration.

Register by choosing your registration level in the dropdown box below, clicking "Add to Cart," and following the checkout instructions. Once you've registered, you'll get an email with information to join the workshop by Zoom and reminder emails.

If you have any questions, email joe[at]labornotes[dot]org