Panel: U.S. Labor on the Move: The Fights Ahead in 2022

January 19, 2022

Event at a Glance

Date

January 19, 2022, 7:00 pm

Join Haymarket and Labor Notes for a discussion about some of the key labor fights ahead in 2022.

Date: Wednesday, January 19

Time: 7:00 PM-8:30 PM Eastern; 6-7:30 PM Central; 5-6:30 PM Mountain; 4-5:30 PM Pacific

***REGISTER HERE through Eventbrite to receive a link to the video conference on the day of the event. This event will also be recorded and live captioning will be provided.***

As the coronavirus crisis continues to rock the U.S. working class, and as corporate profits soar, organized workers are gearing up for some of the biggest fights in years, both in the workplace and in their unions. In 2022, the United Auto Workers will hold their first direct elections for top leadership after years of corruption and concessions, in advance of negotiations with the Big Three automakers in 2023; the Teamsters will inaugurate new reform leadership and launch their UPS contract campaign, covering the largest private sector union contract in the country; and UFCW members on the West Coast will begin a coordinated contract campaign covering 100,000 grocery workers. Hear from member leaders from each of these fights on how union members are fighting back across the country, and learn more about the next potential flash points in the U.S. labor movement.

Speakers:

  • Dave Bernt, UPS Teamster, Local 705; Co-chair, Teamsters for a Democratic Union
  • Michael Cannon, UAW; Steering Committee, Unite All Workers for Democracy
  • Kyong Barry, Albertson's grocery worker; Executive Board member, UFCW Local 21
  • Moderator: Jonah Furman, Labor Notes

Organizations listed for identification purposes only.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

This event is sponsored by Labor Notes and Haymarket Books. While all of our events are freely available, we ask that those who are able make a solidarity donation in support of our important publishing and programming work.