Building a Caucus and Transforming Your Union: A Labor Notes Webinar

December 07, 2021

Event at a Glance

Date

December 07, 2021, 8:00 pm

Rank and file reform caucuses transform unions by establishing and enacting a new vision for the union. From the CORE caucus in the Chicago Teachers Union to Teamsters for a Democratic Union, reform caucuses show union members what is possible within democratic, transparent, militant union organizing. But how do we get there? Where do we start?

Join caucus leaders from health care, education, the Teamsters, and the UAW to learn about how they are transforming their unions through caucus organizing. We will hear from union members in the earliest stages of caucus development as they make decisions about establishing a shared vision and growing the caucus. And we will hear from leaders of established caucuses about deciding when to run for office and how to integrate new members as the caucus grows.

Building a Caucus and Transforming Your Union: A Labor Notes Webinar
Tuesday, December 7
8:00 PM Eastern (7 PM CT, 6 PM MT, 5 PM PT)

Confirmed panelists include:
Sean Williams, IBT Local 71, Teamsters for a Democratic Union
Shoshana Brown, United Federation of Teachers, Movement of Rank and File Educators
Martha Grevatt, retired UAW Local 869, Unite All Workers for Democracy (UAWD) and Andrew Bergman, UAW Local 5118, UAWD
Andrea Mallarkey, SEU 1021

Organizations listed for identification purposes only.

How to Register:

This event is free, but registration is required and donations are welcome. If you'd like to make a donation, you can do so when you register below by choosing the $10 or $20 options. To make a donation larger than $20 or to become a Labor Notes monthly donor, visit labornotes.org/donate.

Your support helps Labor Notes offer more events like this one and continue our coverage of efforts to put the movement back in the labor movement.

Registration Details: